Ossuary Anex – Mutilation Through Prayer (2016)

ossuary-anex-mtp-cover

Ok, it was about freaking time for a new review, right? I should start this one by pointing out that I am not a huge fan of death metal. There, I said it. I don’t like death-core. Heck, I don’t like anything-core as a matter of fact. When it comes to death metal, I like some Swedish school, or melodic/symphonic stuff like Septic Flesh, or when I feel like going all brutal, Deicide, Vital Remains and a tiny bit of later Cannibal Corpse is pretty much all I enjoy.

So what we have here is the second album of the Russian band Ossuary Anex. And I must admit I couldn’t tell they’re Russian until I read it. This is the kind of death metal I would expect from a US band, or at least a really inspired moment of a Greek band. The album starts with a sick piano intro, the blasting commences and it’s uphill from then on. Nothing is forced, the songs flow with enough variation and thanks to their duration (which averages around 4 minutes) it never gets boring.

Brutal sounding guitars, highly energetic technical play, a bass that slams you right in the face, the vocals are brutal and deep (even if mixed a little lower than what I was expecting), and natural drums, which was a great surprise given the overly trigger-happy nature of the genre.

The mix is really good and powerful, and you can easily discern every instrument. These guys totally convinced me. It’s been years to enjoy a brutal death metal album as much (last one I remember was “Promulgation of the Fall” by Dead Congregation, and that was back in 2014). Not to mention the killer artwork. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

More info:

https://lordofthesickrecordings.bandcamp.com/album/mutilation-through-prayer

http://www.lordsick.bigcartel.com/

https://www.facebook.com/OssuaryAnex

One thought on “Ossuary Anex – Mutilation Through Prayer (2016)

Leave a comment